Parents are he mandatory reporters when it comes to combatting child abuse in Miami state. Though there has been conflicting circumstances under which mandatory child reporter must file a report, the parent should be the reporter number one in any case involving child abuse. According to the statute, the reporter must have suspicion that the child is being abused before reporting such cases (Kenny, & Abreu, 2016).The following are the steps followed in making such reports;
Call the department of family and children’s service and report the abuse
Complete a State of Miami Suspected Child Abuse Report
Send the written report within 36 hours through either email or any other channel which is provided in the law.
On August 13, 2017, Victoria Martens celebrated her 10th birthday. That same night, Victoria was incapacitated by alcohol, forcibly raped, choked, stabbed, dismembered, placed in a plastic bag in the living room and finally set on fire by her mother’s boyfriend and his cousin. Victoria’s mother did nothing to stop these monsters; instead, she watched and allowed this unspeakable violence to be inflicted upon her helpless daughter. According to the law, her mother was mandated to protect her daughter and report the case immediately to the relevant authority or to the police.
The State of Texas has a law that mandates anyone who thinks a child, a person 65 years or older, or any adult with disabilities is being abused, neglected or exploited must report it to the department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS). The abuse report can be made by phone 1-800-252-5400 or online at Texas Abuse Hotline 24 hours, seven days a week or call 911 the Local Law enforcement.
A person who reports abuse in good faith is immune from civil or criminal liability. The DFPS keeps the name of the person making report confidential. Anyone who does not report suspected abuse could be held liable for a misdemeanor or felony.
In the State of Texas, nurses and doctors are mandated to report any suspected child or elderly abuse to the department of Family and Protective Services or the Local law enforcement agency. They also document all findings including physical findings in the patient’s chart. Both nurses and doctors are also expected to report the suspected abuse to their immediate supervisors like nurse managers or senior doctors respectively (Texas Department of Family and Protective Services, n.d.).
Do you need a similar assignment done for you from scratch? We have qualified writers to help you. We assure you an A+ quality paper that is free from plagiarism. Order now for an Amazing Discount! Use Discount Code “Newclient” for a 15% Discount!NB: We do not resell papers. Upon ordering, we do an original paper exclusively for you.
The post Comment appeared first on The Nursing TermPaper.